Immigration: Righteous “Christian” Culmination, or Human Rights Humiliation?

Richard The Chwalek
9 min readFeb 2, 2021
Photo by Max Böhme on Unsplash

.

When I complain about something my country is doing, I have been called a self-hating white person. These are damaging accusations. My feelings are easily hurt. A tear wells up, and…

.

I realize my situation is good compared to many, so someone calling me names, does not and should not phase me. Of course, they are incorrect about one thing, just looking at my sleeves they should see I suffer from Catholic guilt, and how long my purgatory sentence will be, not self hating. Yet, I have always thought that self hating, or guilt suffering is better than lacking an ethical framework, humanitarian values, or a moral backbone.

.

If I hear or read about another xenophobic white-christian-splaining the reason we should ban or harm immigrants, I will remind them of their horrible other-hating. Something Christ did not do a lot of. Except for screaming “You damn do-gooder” at the Samaritan, Jesus was about loving your neighbor as yourself, or guilt ridden, purgatory sentenced-self, or self-hating-self.

.

Yes, the United States cannot house every person in the world on our tiny little land mass of two billion acres, but we could do more, do it better, or do more better…

--

--

Richard The Chwalek

Mostly serious stuff w/ bits of sarcastic fluff. I wish more could be told yet bios have room 4 short & bold. You’ll see less length isn’t my greatest strength.